top of page
Search

Genres of Books

Updated: Mar 21, 2020

Hello again, guys! Today I'm going to be rating genres of books in order. I will be including historical fiction, realistic fiction, fantasy, mysteries, romance, and horror. Also, shout out to Gabby who suggested this topic!


1. Realistic fiction is my personal favorite. These are usually good reads and are relatable. If you are lucky, you might even stumble upon a series to keep you busy for a while. A few good books are Give and Take and Finding Perfect by Elly Swartz, the Willow Falls series by Wendy Mass, and the Mother-Daughter Book Club series by Heather Vogel Frederick.


2. Historical fiction is another good genre. They can have a wide range of time periods, and they usually give you a look into the past to see how life was way back then. Though the words and writing style can sometimes be difficult, they can be very enjoyable. Some good reads are Little Women (parts 1 + 2) by Louisa May Alcott, the Little House series by Laura Ingalls Wilder, and the Anne of Green Gables Series by L.M. Montgomery.


3. Fantasy can be hot and cold, in my opinion. There are some amazing ones, such as Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling and the Land of Stories by Chris Colfer, but there are also duds. I don't have anything against Brandon Dorman, but his books tend to be boring and dragging on.


4. Mysteries are about 50%-50% on my scale. The can be fun to read or they can be the kind that makes you afraid to sleep at night. I don't exactly like the feeling of being scared because it sticks with me for a long time and literally comes back in my dreams. But there are good books for kids like the Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner and the Nancy Drew books by Carolyn Keene.


5. Romance is yuck, according to me, at least. The element of it is always something good to have added into other genres, but a whole book based around it is just kind of...yuck. I like having a romance that is started as a friendship, but the main spotlight is character development or something a little more wholesome.


6. Horror is by far the worst. I really hate getting scared, and that's why I haven't read any Stephen King novels or probably ever will. Even looking at a red balloon gives my chills, and I haven't even seen the movie. If this is your kind of book, good for you, but don't expect me ever to be reading these.


If I missed any genres or you have a different order, feel free to comment, and I hope you enjoyed my ratings!


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page